R Translation Teams

R version 2.1.0 and later support translations of program messages into different languages. A number of translation projects are already underway or completed. To offer your help with one of these, contact a team on the list below. To list your own translation project here, contact Duncan Murdoch <murdoch.duncan@gmail.com> or another member of R-core with the details.

The following pages include the information about internationalization of R:

R Messages

R supports the translation of its messages, including error and warning messages and menu labels. Instructions for translating R messages are noted here. Translation teams for R message translation (in alpahbetic order) are listed as below:

Language Contact
Chinese (Simplified) Fei Chen <FChen6@its.jnj.com>
Chinese (Traditional) Wei-Lun Chao <chaoweilun@gmail.com>
Danish Joe Dalton <joedalton2@yahoo.dk>
Dutch Tobias Verbeke <tobias.verbeke@telenet.be>
French Philippe Grosjean <phgrosjean@sciviews.org>
German Detlef Steuer <steuer@hsu-hh.de>
Greek (modern) Angelos I. Markos <angelos@pobox.com>
(which was returned as invalid in Mar 2011)
Hungarian Daniel Kehl
Italian Stefano Iacus
Japanese Masafumi Okada
Korean Chel Hee Lee <chl948@mail.usask.ca>
Norwegian Nynorsk Karl Ove Hufthammer <karl@huftis.org>
Persian Mahmood Taghavi <taghavi_m@razi.tums.ac.ir>, web page
Polish Lukasz Daniel <lukasz.daniel@gmail.com>
Portuguese-BR Fernando Henrique Ferraz P. da Rosa
Portuguese-PT Nigel Randsley <nigel.randsley@gmail.com>
Russian Alexey Shipunov <dactylorhiza@gmail.com>
Spanish Pablo E. Verde <pabloemilio.verde@uni-duesseldorf.de>
Turkish Murat Alkan <muratalk@gmail.com>
Ukrainian Ivanka Skakun <ivanka.skakun@gmail.com>

R Manuals

The R Documentation files are licensed under the General Public License, version 2 or 3. This means that the pilot project to translate them into other languages has permission to reproduce them and translate them. It would be another aspect of the internationalization of R. Some results have been worked out can be check at [here]. This project attempts to keep translation up-to-dated along with the development of R documentation. The GNU gettext utilities are used. The project named with translate.R is housed in R-Forge. This repository is updated on the weekly basis or whenever changes are necessary. Please contact Chel Hee Lee<chl948@mail.usask.ca> for questions, comments, and/or voluntary participation.

The R revision 69441 (2015-09-29 09:18:12 -0600 Tue, 29 Sep 2015 is used for translation. More detailed information and instructions for R Manual translation are noted here.
Language Contact R-intro R-FAQ R-admin rw-FAQ R-exts R-lang R-ints R-data
Chinese (Simplified) po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
French po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
German Detlef Steuer po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
Greek Vasileios Dimitropoulos
Anastasios Vikatos
Andreas Vikatos
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
Hungarian Daniel Kehl po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
Japanese po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
Korean Chel Hee Lee po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
po
html
Polish Lukasz Daniel po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
Portuguese_BR Fernando Henrique Ferraz Pereira da Rosa po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf
po
html
pdf

Bug Report

Corrections to and comments on message translations should be sent to the maintainer of your language team as listed at http://translation.r-project.org. If you would like to use the R bug tracking system, please choose the translation item on the component field.

This page is edited by Chel Hee Lee on 2015-SEP-29.